University of Delhi
ACADEMICS >> Departments >> Political Science



Political Science

Prof. Ujjwal Kr. Singh (Head)
College Address Department of Political Science,
IInd Floor, Faculty of Social Sciences,
University of Delhi,
College Phone 27666670, 27667725 Ext. 1555
College Fax 27666670
          Political Science


The Department was established in 1952, with about 40 postgraduate students. Since then the combined strength of students has exceeded 800.
The teaching and research programme of the Department is based on a comprehensive social science approach that integrates and interrogates sociological, economic, philosophical and cultural dimensions. It encourages a comprehensive study of the field of politics, keeping especially the Indian reality in focus.

The Department of Political Science has been attempting to decentre the notions and practices of the political from its conventional moorings in Eurocentric thought and history. While engaged in moving away in its research agenda from dominantly European models for some time now, the Department has also insisted on learning and undertaking research on western thought and institutions as well, so that the mutual-imbrication of Europe and the non-West, especially India, may be studied more seriously. The relationships of exchange as well as asymmetry between the West and the non-West is of course critical to understanding the current thrust area of our Department, namely that of Globalisation, Democracy and Justice. The need for research on this area is intensified by a number of important global challenges that require more democratic initiatives than are currently available; and these have to be thought in terms of both national and extra-national institutions. Work on the thrust area also benefits from the critical investigations that we conduct in Indian Politics that reveal both new and old forms of (among other things) inequality, justice, discrimination and institutional processes in the larger context of the global.

Our general focus has been supplemented by a growing emphasis on the need to combine theory with ethnographic and archival work. We believe that it is necessary to acquaint ourselves with both Western Political Theory and Indian Political Thought in order to address and open out new empirical material to fresh questions. We are convinced that this will illuminate the unfolding reality of India and other countries\regions and also open out new research agendas for other institutions outside in and India.

The Department is extremely rich in academic potential, comprising a faculty known widely for their research and teaching abilities. It has entered into many collaboration with international institutions and its reputation is being rapidly consolidated outside the country.

Major Activities:

Revision and Implementation of B.A. (Hons.) Political Science semester based syllabus.

Implementation of M.A. Political Science semester based syllabus.

Conducted various Teachers Orientation Programmes, Workshops for College teachers, Department Faculty Workshops, Teaching Assistance and Pre Ph.D. Workshop, Reading Packages of revised syllabus for B.A.(Hons.)

Generating new fields of research and knowledge, generating material for students, encouraging publication of field trip reports and studies, and concentrating on the major thrust areas. Innovative and emerging areas in Indian Political Thought Comparative Politics, Indian Politics, Human Rights, Exclusion & Inclusion, Environment and Political Economy

Faculty Members


Behera, Prof. Navnita Chadha 27666670 navnita.behera@gmail.com
Chakrabarty, Prof. Bidyut   bidyut@polscience.du.ac.in
Chandhoke, Prof. Neera 27666670 neera.chandhoke@gmail.com
Datta, Prof. Pradip Kumar 2766 6670 pradip.pk@gmail.com
Kukreja, Prof. Veena +91-11-27666670 kukreja_veena@rediffmail.com
Singh, Prof. Ujjwal Kumar +91-11-27666670 ujjwalksingh@gmail.com
Vanaik, Prof. Achin 27666670 achin.vanaik@gmail.com

Associate Professors

Acharya, Dr. Ashok 27666670 ashokacharya@hotmail.com
Banerjee, Dr. Madhulika   madhulika.banerjee@gmail.com
Saxena, Dr. Rekha +91-11-27666670 rekhasaxenadu@hotmail.com
Singh, Dr. Satyajit 27666670 ssinghdu@gmail.com
Varma, Dr. Shanta Nedungadi +91-11-27666670  

Assistant Professors

Chowdhary, Dr. Nasreen +91-11-27666670 nchowdhory@gmail.com
Dastidar, Dr. Mollica   mollica.dastider@gmail.com
Dev, Dr. Rajesh +91-11-27666670 rajeshdev.du@gmail.com
Giri, Dr. Saroj +91-11-27666670 saroj_giri@yahoo.com
Guha, Dr. Sohini +91-11-27666670 sohini.du@gmail.com
Sharma, Dr. Devika 27666670 devika.sharma@gmail.com
Singh, Dr. Mohinder 27666670 mohinder.du@gmail.com
Sukumar, Dr. Narayana +91-11-27666670 suku69@yahoo.com

Courses Offered



The forms are available from the Department in the month of June. The admissions are done on the basis of an entrance test followed by an interview. General candidates should have 55% of marks or above in their post graduation to apply, 5% of relaxation in marks is admissible for SC/ST/PH reserved category candidates. Total no. of available seats is 25.


The forms are available in the month of January and July (twice in a year). The candidates are selected by interviews.

Time Table

Research/Project Activities

Ongoing UGC supported programme on overarching theme of ‘Globalization, Democracy and Justice’.

Post Doctoral students/Research Associates/Teaching Assistants

University Teaching Assistants:
Ms. Alia Zaman aliazaman86@gmail.com
Amna Mirza amnamirza2002@gmail.com
Amya Agarwal amyy.585@gmail.com
Ms. Anjali Chahal anjali.chahal@gmail.com
Anusha anusha8888@gmail.com
Avantika Singh avantika161@rediffmail.com
Devarati Roy Chowdhury todevarati@rediffmail.com
Kapil Kumar kaps22nd@gmail.com
Kshetrimayum Subrata Singh subartasingh@gmail.com
Kunal Kishore kunalkishore.du@gmail.com
Mithilesh Kumar Jha jhamk_21@yahoo.co.in
Mithilesh Kumar Jha jhamk_21@yahoo.co.in
Neelam Jain hineelam09@gmail.com
Neha Aggarwal neha0602@gmail.com
Rinki rinkimavi09@gmail.com
Santana Khanikar skhanikar@rediffmail.com
Smriti Suman ssumanma@gmail.com
Vikramaditya Sahai vikramadityasahai@yahoo.co.in

Student Strength

M.Phil: 25
Ph.D: 10

Facilities/Major lab Equipments along with supervisory staff

Library with 3000 (apporx.) books and 6 computers providing internet facility to the students. (Library Incharge: Mr. Vikrant Khanna)