University of Delhi
ACADEMICS >> Colleges >> Janki Devi Memorial College



Janki Devi Memorial College [w]

Dr. Indu Anand (Principal)
College Address Sir Ganga Ram Hospital Marg,
New Delhi-110060
College Phone 25787754
College Fax 25710832
          Janki Devi Memorial College

About College

Janki Devi Memorial College was founded in 1959 by the famous Gandhian Shri Brij Krishan Chandiwala in the memory of his mother Smt. Janki Devi. The imposing brick building stands in idyllic surroundings among lush green lawns, a profusion of bright hued flowers, the rose garden and the rockery. The College has been imparting quality education to girls for more than four decades. In recognition of the changing world scenario and globalisation, the college has changed its priorities and its imperatives. This is reflected in the syllabi and the curriculum. The subjects offered at the undergraduate level are English, Hindi, Sociology, Political Science, Mathematics, Economics, History, Sanskrit and Commerce as well as Office Management & Secretarial Practice, Advertising & Sales Promotion and Sales Management. The College also offers two short term courses in Hindi Journalism and Women’s Studies. The college’s commitment to Environmental issues is reflected in its Rain Water Harvesting Project for which the college won the Chief Minister’s Best Rainwater Harvester Award. The college has a vibrant Environment club “Avani” that works with NGOs on matters of Environment. JDMC has taken up a Health and Nutrition project for the economically underprivileged students. It is the first of its kind in the University. The college is unique in its location—placed centrally it forms the major green belt of the area. It is easily accessible being a minute away (walking) from the Karol Bagh metro station

Governing Body

Sh. T.N. Chaturvedi (Chairperson) 0120-4214025
Janki Devi Memorial College
Sir Ganga Ram Hospital Marg
New Delhi-110060

Faculty Members

Department of Commerce

Mrs. Usha Jain
Mrs. K. Bhola
Dr. (Mrs.) S. Singhal
Dr. (Mrs.) Usha Krishna
Dr. (Mrs.) Poonam Sharma
Mrs. Manju Pal
Dr. (Mrs.) Chanchal Chopra
Mrs. Vibha Jain
Mrs. Anshu Suri
Dr. (Mrs.) Madhu Gupta
Dr. (Mrs.) Poonam Bewtra
Dr. (Mrs.) N. Vashisht
Dr. (Mrs.) Manisha Sinha
Mrs. Saroj Gupta
Dr. (Ms.) Anupama Rajput
Ms. Sushma Maurya
Ms. Amita

Department of Economics

Ms. M. Fernandes
Mrs. V. Mangalnath
Dr. (Mrs.) M. Gulrajani
Ms. N. Ahluwalia
Dr. (Mrs.) Anuradha Anand
Mrs. N. Narula
Mrs. Shilpa Chaudhary
Ms. Bijoyata Yonzon

Department English

Ms. Geeta Wadhwa
Mrs. M. Singla
Mrs. Rita Sinha
Dr. (Ms.) Jitender Gill
Mrs. Swati Pal
Mrs. Anuradha R.
Mrs. Namita Sethi
Mrs. Antara Dutta
Ms. Sanjukta Naskar
Dr. Payal Nagpal
Ms. Tara Negi
Ms. Indu Jain Kapoor
Mrs. Kusum

Department of FCW

Mrs. N. Murlidhar

Department of Hindi

Mrs. Madhu Vohra
Dr. (Mrs.) M. Aggarwal
Dr. (Mrs.) Sandhya Garg
Mrs. Sudha Upadhyaya
Dr. (Mrs.) Vinita Rani
Dr. Rajni Bala Anuragi
Dr. (Mrs.) Nisha Malik
Dr. (Mrs.) Sangeeta Gupta
Dr. Seema Sharma
Dr. Vandana
Ms. Orgina M. Lakadong
Ms. Meenakshi
Ms. Poonam Yadav

Department of History

Dr. (Mrs.) K. Srivastava
Mrs. Smita Mitra
Mrs.Shubhra Dey
Mrs. Saumya Gupta
Mrs. Tara Sheemer
Ms. Manisha S. Agnihotri
Ms. Natasha Nongbri
Ms. Manisha Pushkar

Department of Maths

Mrs. Asha Gupta
Dr. (Mrs.) S. Bansal
Dr. (Mrs.) Oma Rani
Dr. (Mrs.) Manju Lata
Dr. (Mrs.) P. Arora
Dr. (Mrs.) Sharda Sharma Gautam
Dr. (Mrs.) Neelam Sharma
Mrs. Ritu Arora

Department of Music

Dr. (Mrs.) Prerna Arora
Dr. (Ms.) Gurinder H. Singh

Department of OMSP

Mrs. Raksha Arora

Department of Philosophy

Dr. (Mrs.) K. Jain
Mrs. R. Khullar
Mrs. Himanshubala Jagatdeb
Dr. (Mrs.) Sudnya N. Kulkarni
Dr. (Mrs.) Jayanti P. Sahoo
Ms. Sipu Jayaswal

Department of Physical Education

Dr. (Mrs.) M. Saggar
Ms. Abha Jain

Department of Political Science

Mrs. M. Mehta
Dr. (Mrs.) R. Arora
Mrs. P.S. Khanna
Dr. (Mrs.) Laxmi R. Pillai
Dr. (Mrs.) Suman Gupta
Mrs.Rajshree Chandra Ahuja
Mrs. Poonam Kanwal
Mrs.Sanju Gupta
Dr. (Ms.) Rekha Saxena
Ms. Khachungla Chalhang
Dr. (Mrs.) Chanchal
Ms. Renuka
Ms. Deepshikha

Department of Sanskrit

Dr. (Mrs.) D. Bhanot
Dr. (Mrs.) Santosh Gupta
Ms. Jyoti

Department of Sociology

Ms. Vandana Madan
Ms. Ruby Bhardwaj
Ms. Charu Kala
Dr. Vasiraju Rajyalakshmi

Four Year Undergraduate Programme

Courses Offered


Dr. Anuradha Anand 25787754

Administrative Staff

Mrs. Sheela Malhotra Section Officer (Administration)
Mr. O.P. Gupta Section Officer (Accounts)
Mr. Surendra Kumar Senior Personal Assistant to Principal